Ancient Aztec Salad

22 Aug

I’m working late tonight and decided to prepare one of the Happy Herbivore’s Quick Meals. I added a few extra ingredients to make it my own. Here it is:

Ancient Aztec Salad:

  • 1 cup corn
  • ½ cup black beans
  • ¼ cup cooked quinoa
  • Fresh salsa (I used about 1/4 cup instead of using fresh tomatoes)
  • Fresh squeezed lime juice
  • A very small amount of olive oil
  • 1 piece of Gardein’s Chick’n Scallopini
  • Chipotle pepper powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Cumin

Cook the chick’n to your liking. I usually pan-fry it with just a little bit of oil to keep it from sticking. I have learned that using water or vegetable broth changes the consistency of the Gardein products so I recommend using olive oil. Feel free to add seasonings of you choice while the chick’n is cooking. I used the Chipotle pepper powder.

Combine the rest of the ingredients. This is great served warm or cold. Pretty ideal for eating at work. Enjoy!

(Recipe from happyherbivore.com).

Leave a Reply

