Vegan Fast Food

10 Aug

I started a new job today (woohoo) and needed to find something quick to eat in between appointments. One of the most, if not THE most, vegan friendly fast food joints is Taco Bell. I chose the Fresco Bean Burrito which consisted of refried beans, salsa, tomatoes, and onions. Although lacking in vegetables, it definitely gave me the protein boost I needed!

When I got home, I felt like I need to replenish my nutrients with some fresh veggies, so at 9pm, I heated up my skillet and sauteed some beet greens and broccoli from my CSA this week. No oil added, just a bit of vegetable broth!

 

I also had a bunch of kale, and considering last week’s kale supply went to waste, I decided to try Kerri’s super easy Kale Chip recipe. Once again, no oil needed!

Kale Chips

A bunch of kale ripped into half-dollar sized pieces

Seasonings of your choice (I used salt and pepper)

Preheat oven to 250. Place kale pieces in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Season lightly. Bake for about 10 minutes.

Super Easy. Super Delicious. Thanks Kerri!

~Kate

4 Responses to “Vegan Fast Food”

  1. VegansHusband August 10, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Your kale chips turned out well? I can never get mine to be anything but bland-ish, sharp little daggers surrounded by seasonings. Ugh, what’s your secret, and why am I so bad at making kale chips?

    • AccioVegans August 10, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      The first time I made them they were burnt, over seasoned, and greasy. The seasoning is concentrated when the kale dehydrates so only use a small amount. I use chipotle pepper powder. Don’t use oil. Just use washed and seasoned kale. Low temp of 250 for 10 min. Flip them if you want but I usually don’t. But you have to keep an eye on them. Don’t let then get too dark, they should still be kind of bright(ish) when you eat them. They’re not for everyone but they’re worth another try. Good luck -Kerri

      • VegansHusband August 10, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

        I’ve had other people’s and theirs are always good. Maybe I’m just meant to have other people make them for me. . . I’ll barter fresh pasta for kale chips!

      • AccioVegans August 10, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

        I haven’t made fresh pasta since before I went eggless. I’d be interested in negotiating a trade.

Leave a Reply

