Meatless Meatballs with Marinara and Veggies

6 Aug

Once again, the Happy Herbivore has provided a vegan version of one of my favorite foods. I have been craving meatballs lately and decided to try the HH recipe. My experience with meatless meatballs in the past has not been very good, so I had pretty low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised with the result of these ones, though!

 

While the vegan meatballs were cooking, I roasted some tomatoes I got from my CSA and some eggplant. I also added some homemade marinara, pasta, sun-dried tomatoes, vegan Parmesan, and fresh basil to complete the meal.

 

Since I cannot share the meatball recipe (you will need to buy the Happy Herbivore cookbook for that!), here is my super easy, homemade marinara sauce recipe.

Marinara Sauce

  • 1 tablespoon Fra Diavlo oil (Omit if you don’t like spicy sauce or if you want it to be fat free)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 -2 tablespoons Italian Seasoning (I like mine to have a lot of flavor, but adjust it to your tastes)
  • 1 can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 can tomato paste

Heat the oil and then add the onions and garlic. Cook until the onions are translucent. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 90 minutes. Enjoy!

~Kate

One Response to “Meatless Meatballs with Marinara and Veggies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Great Meat Alternatives « Accio Vegans! - August 12, 2012

    […] Field Roast. I love sauteing this with onions and peppers and putting it over quinoa with some homemade spicy marinara. […]

Leave a Reply

